Thursday, 12 July 2007

Microcontroller ROM types

Microcontroller can be classify by TWO types, according to its download function.
(1) Flash
(2) Flash and Debug

"Flash" means only download and execute the firmware. Such as some of "Hitachi" series.
"Flash and Debug" means download, execute and can debug (insert brake, watches for pots, data) during running the firmware. Debug by programmer, which attached to computer's aplication. Such as some of "Sygnal" series.
But..."Flash and Debug" mode microcontroller has normally no warrenty.
(Warrenty periods for microcomtrollers are mostly 3 years)

In Myanmar mostly used "PICxxx" series. They also cannot debug.

Debugger for "Sygnal" series Microcontroller

No comments:

Post a Comment